The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2) by Julie Kagawa

7747064Book Synopsis:
Published 1st August 2010 by  Harlequin Teen
Add to Goodreads

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

Book Review: 5 stars

I am always slightly hesitant before reading the second book in a series. Especially when I loved the first, and only finished it a few hours before starting the next book. Sometimes I get tired of reading about a certain world, or I am desperately waiting for something to happen and it hasn’t yet..so I pretty much lose interest. But nah uh ahh fellow readers! For The Iron Daughter has the same charm and excitement as The Iron King.

The next instalment in the Iron Fey series is rather dark when compared to the first book. You get to experience the Winter Palace in Tir Na Nog, with all of the dark and twisted inhabitants and customs that embody it. It reminded of The Lion Witch and the Wardrobe, during the White Witches reign of course. The idea of freezing somebody so that they are still technically alive, but spend eternity trying to breathe was so twisted. I loved it. When comparing the royalty between courts they are actually quite similar. Although Mab has been set up as this vicious queen, Oberon can be just as so..and lets not forget Tatiana. With a world that is based on strict rules and customs, it isn’t necessarily functioning. But then again what  society is.

We get to see the old cast of characters again with mischievous Grim and even surprisingly loyal IRONHORSE. I really enjoyed learning more about Puck, and watching his and Meghan’s relationship grow. He is by far one of my favourite characters. With his touch of humour to deflect true emotion, I was glad to see some of his walls fade when he was around the summer princess.

I was incredibly relieved when Meghan began to grow some balls. Thank GOD woman! When we left her at the end of the Iron King she relied on the gorgeous men and cat around her to protect her, even though she did kill the Iron King, I felt that she had only started to become her own warrior. In this book I really noticed a change, which was riveting to read especially when she put Ash in his place. Such fun!

I’m not sure that I can stress enough how Kagawa’s writing captures the obscurities and beauty of another world. The Briars and even the inbetween with Leanansidhe was incredibly creative down to the last detail. It was interesting to see what happens to those who the dysfunctional courts deem to be even more dysfunctional. I reckon Leanansidhe is probably tied to the fake Iron King. It’ll be interesting to see where Kagawa continues with her story, especially when it involved Charles.

I am so torn right now on whether to continue this series and risk losing interest, when my other side is yelling at me to see what happens with Ash and Meghan! Ahh the dilemmas of good books. Such a hard life I live.

five starsBUY BOOK

2 thoughts on “The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2) by Julie Kagawa

  1. I thought you’d be glad to know that I purchased the first book in the series and it is in my *read in at least 3 months* pile :p (I have too many books in my TBR pile)

Leave a Reply

