The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1) by Julie Kagawa

6644117Book Synopsis:
Published February 1st 2010 by Harlequin Teen
Add to Goodreads

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Book Review: 5 stars

It is moments like these that I truly know why Maddison and I are friends…she is able to pick a book that I love. Normally it takes me ages to read any book that she suggests is awesomely amazing, but I am incredibly thrilled that I picked this one up!

To be honest I wasn’t really sure what to expect. After just finishing another book about Fey’s I was sort of hesitant to dive into another book of the same genre. And yet when reading The Iron King it gave me the same levels of enchantment and excitement  as Lewis Carrolls Alice in Wonderland (an all time favourite), mixed in with my current obsession that is found in Armentrout’s Covenant series (ie. kick-ass fight scenes and pizazz). Kagawa writes in a way that allows the reader to feel apart of her imagination and partake in adventures with her characters. From the final details of Machina’s throne room to Puck’s fake self turning into a leaf, I was hooked. Without sounding corny, it was magical.

“Ladies and Felines,” he stated grandly, grasping the doorknob, “Welcome to Tir Na Nog. Land of endless winter and shitloads of snow.”

Puck | The Iron King

Lets face it though, who doesn’t love a story where the main character shares the same name as you. Am i right? Am i right? I love Meghan! She was incredibly relatable and I admired how she grew throughout the novel, embracing her destiny and all that good stuff. Ash & Puck! Please! Who wouldn’t love two gorgeous men who are actually fighting over you, like with swords and magic. Too cool. And Grim…naww Grim. I wan’t a talking cat…and I don’t really like cats.

The plot was well planned and although this is only the first book I felt like it was a well rounded story. I do admire the whole concept for this series. The idea that Fey emerged from the imagination of man has long been told through lore, but the premise that advancements in technology have given rise to new Fey was brilliant. I devour stories that play on realties in a realistic way. Well as realistic as you can get when talking about faeries.

If you haven’t already, pick this one up! Kagawa is an amazing story writer, so you won’t be disappointed.

I have already started the next one.

five starsBUY BOOK

8 thoughts on “The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1) by Julie Kagawa

  1. You’re totally right! I love when I read about a character named Abbe (or Abby, Abbey, Abbie) it’s so great. I’ve been dying to read this series for a long time, JUlie is an amazing author! Awesome review!

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As A Movie/ TV Shows | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

