Switched (Trylle Trilogy, #1) Amanda Hocking

12133821Book Synopsis:
Published July 12th 2010 by CreateSpace

What if your entire world was built on a lie?

Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth. Although certain she’s not the monster her mother claims she is – she does feel that she doesn’t quite fit in…

She’s bored and frustrated by her small town life – and then there’s the secret that she can’t tell anyone. Her mysterious ability – she can influence people’s decisions, without knowing how, or why…

When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night – her world is turned upside down. He holds the key to her past, the answers to her strange powers and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist. Förening, the home of the Trylle.

Finally everything makes sense. Among the Trylle, Wendy is not just different, but special. But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger. With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust. But dark forces are conspiring – not only to separate them, but to see the downfall everything that Wendy cares about.

The fate of Förening rests in Wendy’s hands, and the decisions she and Finn make could change all their lives forever…

Book Review: 3.5 stars

I love reading books with unique concepts. Ones where although the topic has been done to death I appreciate its different spin. This is one of those books.

Switched is not my favourite read for March, nor is it probably my second to be honest with you. Lets just say that I had a few issues. As mentioned before I really enjoyed the overall plot of the book. The idea of these changelings replacing children, although based on lore, was rather interesting because you were able to see the other side of it. The Trylle’s world. The descriptions of the mansion drew me in and I was able to have clear images of each hallway, wall, and chandelier. Being a self acclaimed shopaholic I was mad jealous of all of the beautiful gowns Wendy got to wear.

<spoilers ahead – reader beware>
But even so there were a few things that I just didn’t fully understand or sort of was like ‘mmm…ok’. When Finn first tells Wendy that she is different, she doesn’t believe him. Yes she is still unsure if she is in fact persuading people to do her bidding, but if I was in that situation and already thought I wasn’t completely human, I would board that crazy train right into Förening . Not go to see my crack pot mother. Anyway once she got to the mansion another issue arises. The fact that she didn’t ever consider running away from a place that she didn’t really feel connected too was weird to me. Yes she understood why her presence was necessary, but if my ‘mother’ treated me that badly regardless of customs i’d seriously consider leaving. I think Wendy is a lot nicer then I am…although the ending begs to differ.

I adored Tove, Rhys, and Willa. The supporting characters did hold the story together for me. They were written with such a touch of reality that I understood their actions and beliefs, and how they each were products of their society.

The romance was waining slightly, and there were clear comparisons between the Princess diaries. I actually think there was a quote in the book about that series…yep just checked. There was. I don’t know what it was about this book that made me keep on reading. Maybe it was the plot and I was desperate to figure out what was going on, or maybe it was because I needed to see if Finn ever would freaking kiss Wendy! Either was I am intrigued enough to continue reading the series.

images-1

BUY BOOK

 

2 thoughts on “Switched (Trylle Trilogy, #1) Amanda Hocking

  1. this book was my least favorite of the series… for me each book got better and I loved that in the end it didn’t end at all like I expected it too… there are some good twists so if you’re not completely hating this book I’d say give the next one a try…

    • Thank you for letting me know 😀 I’ve been sitting on the fence as to whether I should continue reading this series, it wasn’t my favourite book but I can see the potential. I may have to pick the next one up soon!

Leave a Reply

