Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

11614718

Book Synopsis:
Published Feb 7th 2012 by Harper Collins

They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever.

And I’ve always believed them.

Until now.

Now everything has changed.

Now, I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, when she falls in love

Book Review: 3.75 stars

I have been in such a reading funk lately. Honestly I think this is the first book I have read in like 2 weeks, and it took me that same amount of time actually finish it. Not because it was bad, but because I have just been busy. And I always find that when I don’t get the chance to read every day that I find myself distanced from the story, so its hard to get back into it. Which is why I only gave it a 3.75 rating.

Overall I thought the concept of this story was incredibly unique and thought provoking. A world without ‘love’, I would definitely hate to experience that. And yet I admired how Oliver created this world with logical outcomes of what might happen if there was in fact a cure. I really enjoyed the little snippets of different books and poems at the beginning of each chapter. It helped me understand the world a little better.

I absolutely adored Alex and Lena. And I am so super duper excited for the TV show, especially to see how these two are portrayed. Hopefully Darren does Alex justice!

I did find that the book dragged on a bit, especially in the first half. There was lots of world and relationship building, which although it was necessary, it just took a while for me to get through. An yet I am still excited to continue this series!!

6 thoughts on “Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

  1. I read this some time ago and whilst I do really enjoy the author’s style of writing I didn’t love this – I found the idea about this society with no love a bit of a long stretch but more than that I couldn’t ever think of how the society would have come up with this notion in the first place. Plus, people did love each other – just for the first 18 years of their life which didn’t make sense – why would you choose to change your personality in that way? Like I said though, I didn’t think it was a bad book and I think Lauren Oliver is a really good author.
    Lynn 😀

    • I think if you look through history there are thousands of events where love, in its many forms, has created tragedy. Whether it be love for a country, diety or even a person. Even in literature a common theme is the length someone will go to for love. I could see the reason for getting rid of ‘love’ as a means to prevent tragedies, and a way to control people. Peoples actions are influenced by their emotions, and love is one of the strongest ones out there. It ties in with fear and anger of course, which can lead people into making rash decisions. But i do agree with what you were saying about experiencing love for 18 years of your life, and then just all of a sudden deciding that you didn’t want to feel it. Then again though the children, well most of them, were being raised by people who no longer had the ability to love. Which would distort your view on love, not to mention the fact that everyone was brain washed into thinking it was evil.

      I haven’t read the next one yet, so I’m not sure if it gives more details into why society thought having love in your life was so bad and decided to get rid of the problem. The only thing that I can think of is to control them, as a means to prevent tragedy.
      😀

      • I totally agree with you about love – it definitely causes problems and tragedy but it also inspires people as well. I suppose the real thing that puzzled me though was how you would ever get to a point where you would convince enough people to think this was a good idea and agree to it. It’s so difficult to get any large group of people to agree on anything really as it is – even the most basic things so imagine having this huge group of people – people who are in love, people with children, relatives, how would you ever convince them to give that all up?? Like you say though it could be explained in the next book and also, as you mention, it’s obviously being used as a means of control and maybe it was actually forced upon people? I’m probably being too pedantic about wanting explanations for things – sometimes you just have to go with the flow and enjoy the story for the hell of it after all!
        Lynn 😀

      • I love finding out explanations for things, because like you most probably I can’t just take things at face value. I understand what you are saying at how difficult/ almost impossible it would be to convince people to give up something as inspiring as love. But then again if we take the holocaust for example (which is such a drastic/devastating example), you can see just how influential certain people were in convincing thousands even millions to think a certain way. And we all know the devastating outcomes that came from that point in history. Although it wasn’t the notion of love in that instance, it is still evident that people will and can alter their thinking. Whether it be to conform, or just because they have been persuaded to think a certain way. Even modern day cults is another example of people who have a sole belief in something that others consider to be so obscene or don’t understand. I think what I’m trying to say is that its an odd thing to even consider happening, this concept of society believing something so radical, but it does happen. Rather frequently actually.

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

