Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand

13049981

Book Synopsis: [goodreads]
Pages 438 | Published January 22nd 2013 by Harper Teen
The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.
Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California – and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.
As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must decide her fate once and for all.

Book Review: 4 stars.

<*Beware! There are spoilers in this review*>

Oh Cynthia Hand, why oh why do you do this to me!? Make me feel so much for your characters and then on the last page I am saddened by the finality of the series. Boundless was the last instalment of the Unearthly trilogy, and it surprised me.

Like with most series, the problem arises when the readers is unable to remember what happened in the previous books because there is such a long wait time between publications. And even though I did write a Pensive Post on this series…..I clearly missed out a few things. So it took me maybe a few chapters to get into the book, but after those mere minutes had past, I was hooked. Again.

imagesHand has this beautiful style of writing that creates a clear depiction of scenes allowing the reader to fully immerse themselves into her world. I had no trouble imagining Stanford, Tuckers barn and dare I say Hell or even Heaven?? The description of Hell was actually done rather brilliantly, mirroring streets on Earth with a sorrowful twist. I devoured it.

The plot for me did carry on a bit, and at times I sat there wishing that Hand would just get on with it. Like most readers I am sure, we try to predict what will happen before the book ends. Well, I did not pick the situation with Angela. And yet I admired how it fit in with Clara’s purpose. With such an everlasting war going on between good and evil, I was a little relieved to know that <*spoilers*> Clara’s purpose would not end this war. That she only played a rather small part in the success of good for one day. And because of this I really enjoyed how Hand finished her trilogy. Despite when Tucker became a prophet, it was just too ‘happy ending’ for me.

Like i’ve mentioned before, anything with religious undertones I will read… because I am sort of a religion nut. The contrast in beliefs between Jeffrey and Clara in regards to faith was written with such honesty that I loved it. Since the existence of God is questioned constantly in every day life, I rather liked how Hand showed this conflict through two angels.

“I blame God,” he says. “If there even is such a thing. Sometimes I feel like we’re all chumps, doing stuff from these visions just because somebody told us to, in the name of a deity we’ve never even met. Maybe the visions have nothing to do with God, and we’re just seeing the future. Maybe we’re all perpetuating the myth”
Boundless | Cynthia Hand

angels_in_love_by_orrik31This brings me to my opinion on the debate of Tucker vs. Christian. It only happens rarely that I fall for the love interest who the protagonist does not end up with – and this was another of those cases. From the beginning I did love Tucker, his cowboy mannerisms and hat made me swoon. Yet even so, I know why I prefer Christian. Don’t get me wrong, Hand has definitely set up the love interests in a way that either one would be good for Clara. And we all know that she picked Tucker in the end because she would always love him more. I just preferred Christian. Why? I think it was because he was mentioned more. As a reader I felt that I knew more about him, and was saddened that he wouldn’t get his happy ending. Its always going to be a hard decision when you have to choose between a person who you are destined to be with, and then another who your heart will always love. I get Clara’s decision, and if this was real life I’d hope I’d now have a shot with Christian….i’m just saying.

If you have started this series then I recommend you finish it, and if you haven’t then you should give it a go. It is one of the better angel series I have read.

images-1BUY BOOK

5 thoughts on “Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand

  1. The whole black wings war kind of reminds me of Finale from Hush, Hush…
    I can’t believe book three is already the last one! Felt like such a short series 😉

      • And I’m still so torn between Tucker and Christian! 😦
        Hush, Hush has good plots that I’d say are pretty exciting, the only drawback is that I like female protagonists that can kickass and the main character, and at some times I feel like knocking Nora on the head 😛 She’s not so bad though so I still got through the series and thought it was pretty good!

      • I am such a Christian fan! lol! oh ok 🙂 I totally agree, I love kickass heroines…but I think i’ll still check it out. Actually Maddi might have already read it, so I can borrow the book from her 😀

Leave a Reply

