Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

6936382

Book Synopsis:
Pages 372 | Published December 2nd 2010 by Dutton
Anna Oliphant is sent to boarding school in France by her father. At first she is hesitant. New country, new language and of course she left the gorgeous and funny Toph back home in Atlanta. But then she meets St. Clair. Without realising why, she finds her self instantly connected to him. But he already has a girlfriend, which isn’t even the worse part. Because her new friend Mer is absolutely in love with him too. What will she do? Ignore her feelings for St. Clair to save her new found friendship with Mer? Dive into a distance relationship with Toph? Or will she give into temptation?

Book Review: 4 stars

Ok so I am like three years out of high school now, which doesn’t seem that much to be honest with you. But when you are an avid reader of young adult fiction you begin to realise a few things. 1) my high school experience was so not like that.. and 2) dammit! I wish it was.

Anna and the French Kiss was a surprising read. I know that I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, or title. But come on! Who would have thought that a novel that has been mocked whenever I am in a bookstore with my friends, purely because of its title, could end up being so good. Like soooo good.

You definitely have to be in the mood for high school romance, and all of the drama that surrounds it. Perkins has written the story wonderfully creating unique characters where their personality ‘flaws’ really influence their lives. Especially at the end. *spoiler* like with St. Clairs fear of falling and the end scene! For some readers you may read the book with clouded eyes, concluding that nothing much really happens besides character development. Which is true, because this book is a contemporary novel that is in all honesty predictable. But it does discuss and present rather brilliantly different relationships, which is what I liked so much about it. Anna and the French Kiss has some great one liners as well:

“I mean, really. Who sends their kid to boarding school? It’s so Hogwarts. Only mine doesn’t have cute boy wizards or magic candy or flying lessons.”

Anna and the French Kiss | Stephanie Perkins

I was actually talking to my friend Sarah and we concluded that Harry Potter does come up in most conversations, so any book with a reference to it I am so there. Anyway..enough of the side track. My only critique would be that the ending felt a bit rushed, especially since the rest of the novel tended to move at a comfortable pace. Although Perkins did sum up her novel very well.

Just a side note (if you have read it) in regards to St. Clair’s height. Maddison found it weird that he wasn’t much taller than Anna, I on the other hand had no problem with it. It was just different after reading all of these books about tall handsome strangers. What do you think?

All in all a great romantic read. I think my favourite line was when  St. Clair says to Anna: “I didn’t want to be alone” and she replies with “You were never alone.” Oh my gosh did it make my heart melt.

Check it out! Its an easy and great read.

20121221-161414.jpgBUY BOOK

11 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. “But when you are an avid reader of young adult fiction you begin to realise a few things. 1) my high school experience was so not like that..”

    You know, the thing that I find ‘different’ most often is that so many YA characters stick to the cliques all the way to graduation. Also, that they still hand out detentions in your final year.

    Maybe it was just my experience of the ACT education system, where you go to college for the final two years, but there were no cliques and no detentions from when I was sixteen…

    As for the ‘wish it’d been like that’ – I can definitely think of a few books where I wished I’d known certain guys!

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

  3. Pingback: Meg’s Top 10 Picks for 2013 | MegaMad 4 books

  4. St. Clair was three inches taller than Anna. That was awkward for me. Especially when she was turned off by Dave’s small hands. I was like “huh?”

Leave a Reply

