Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

1217100Book Synopsis: [goodreads]
Pages 304 | October 8th 2007 by Razorbill

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

Book Review: 2.5 stars

I have actually contemplated whether to write this review or not for a while. It is often hard to comment on a subject matter that is quite controversial and in this case quite apparent in modern society. Despite my hesitations though and to be only honest, I didn’t love Thirteen Reasons Why.

Within the book tube community I had heard raving reviews about this book. So when I took a casual drive to my local library and saw it sitting there I figured why not? If you have been following Maddi & I for a while, or even have taken a quick squiz at our blogger information, you will know that I read to escape reality. So I rarely read novels that are quite close to home on subject matter.

In overall plot I thought this book was spot on in its idea that we don’t ever truly know how much our words affect others. It was the execution that bugged me. At times I found Clay’s inner thoughts to be dull and repetitive. When authors say rather than show I often find that it disrupts my reading. On the other hand I found Hannah’s overall story to be devastatingly interesting and would much have preferred only her point of view. I do understand as to why it was written from a multiple view point – to better understand the lasting effects such a situation has on outside parties.

This book did dive into the realities of the world, and the ever growing pressures placed on younger generations. And could be used as a stepping stone into awareness on this topic for adolescents. Overall it was the style of writing that annoyed me and prevented me from truly engaging with this story, but then again I am not exactly the target audience here.

The book is being adapted for the big screen, with Selena Gomez cast to play Hannah Baker.

2.5stars

BUY BOOK

Leave a Reply

