Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky # 2) by Veronica Rossi

15992547Book Synopsis

353 pages | Published 8th January 2013 by Hachette Book Group

Aria has struggled to build a life for herself outside Reverie. It hasn’t be easy adjusting to life in the wilderness but that struggle has been worth it with Perry by her side.

But Perry has other challenges. His people are looking to him for answers. Answers about what happened to his nephew and what’s happening to their world. And they don’t trust the privileged Aria, one of the enemy, in their midst.

Soon he’ll be forced to chose between the tribe that looks to him for leadership and the girl that looks to him for love.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Review – 4 STARS

I liked the first book, Under the Never Sky, a lot and I was really worried that the second book would be a bit of a flop. This was not at all the case. While I did like the first book, I LOVED Through the Ever Night! This sequel far exceeds the goodness that was the first and moves into absolute greatness!

13253276This one starts out exactly where the last one left off, the reunion between Aria and Perry (gosh I just love those too). While these two are clearly amazing together, they struggle with balancing their relationship with their responsibilities and end up separating for a bit to deal. Aria needs to find the Still Blue for Perry and Perry needs to prove himself as a leader to the Tides. The character development that happened in both Aria and Perry through their struggles was really well done. Aria has become the mature, bad ass knife wielding Outsider I knew she could be. After losing everything in the first book, I think her commitment to Perry is really able to shine in this one. She would literally do anything for him which is very much evident in the book. Meanwhile, Perry has to overcome a lot of challenges to prove that he’s worthy of his new found title of Blood Lord of the Tides.  Thankfully he remains the ridiculously good-looking, impulsive wild boy that we all know and love! I continued to enjoy the alternation in PoV between Perry and Aria; its two adventures being told at once and really helps to add to the suspense which can make this a really hard book to put down!

Another reason it’s hard to put down is that there is constantly something happening! It just never stops or slows down! I honestly had a very difficult time deciding when I should take a break to do annoying things, like eat or sleep. I was constantly like ‘OH no! But I have to find out what happens next! I’ll just eat after the next chapter… no the next… or the next’ and on and on until I was finished. There aren’t as many physical battles as there were in the last, but you got hit with a lot of difficult to solve problems. I felt so bad for all the characters and the many burdens and fears they have on their shoulders every day.

“She’d been seeking the comfort of a place. Of walls. A roof. A pillow to rest her head on. Now she realised that the people she loved were what gave her life shape, and comfort, and meaning.”

The above quote represents something that I’ve always believed to be true and I’m glad it was a bit of a theme in this book. One of my favourite parts of the book is the further exploration of some of the more minor characters in this book. While I think that Aria and Perry are awesome, I really liked getting a better look into the characters that support them and help make them who they are. I found this particularly important in Perry’s PoV. From Perry’s PoV we get to further understand the dynamics of the Tides, Perry’s family and the world he grew up in. There’s also an emphasis on his new bandRobin_Hood's_Merry_Men of guards, the Six, who he met at the end of the first book. Their blind faith and commitment to Perry really help to get him through the many ups and downs he has as a leader. While from Aria’s PoV we get a better inside into Roar. I really like Roar and his banter! He’s an incredibly easy character who I, much like Aria, became attached to quite quickly. I absolutely loved the very strong BFFL friendship that developed between Aria and Roar. Those two are there for each other but in a purely friendship way for both sides which I don’t often get to read about between a male and female. It’s great.

This sequel also clarified a lot of issues that really bothered me last time! I don’t know if anyone else had this problem but whilst reading the last book I found myself asking ‘but wait, what’s aether? And how did this world happen!?’ I didn’t really feel like there had been a sufficient answer to that question and it bothered me immensely. But Through the Ever Night has set my questions and concerns to bed and for that I am very grateful (it really bothered me). I feel like I have a better understanding of the story now and can therefore imagine the world that’s being created a lot more clearly.

I can’t wait to read the third book!! It should be starting out with a lot of action that I’m positive I will enjoy! AH so much happened in this story- it was brilliant!

Untitled

BUY BOOK

If you liked this book, then you should also check out this great dystopia!

13450088

2 thoughts on “Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky # 2) by Veronica Rossi

  1. Pingback: A – Z Book Survey | MegaMad 4 books

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

