Nearly Departed (Weirdsville, #1) by Rook Hastings

6871358Book Synopsis:
Pages 272 | Published 4th February 2010
Everything has a rational explanation . . . unless it doesn’t. The creepy first book in a ghostly new series: Welcome to Weirdsville. “I’ve seen a ghost,” said Emily. “Well, not seen one exactly. Heard one. At least, I think I have . . . ”  

Woodsville is not like other towns. Night falls a little earlier there, the shadows are darker and denser, and everyone knows it’s a place where strange things happen., even if they won’t admit it. Bethan would prefer to be anywhere but here. Jay has his theories, but isn’t ready to share. Hashim sees more than he’ll say, while Kelly’s demons are all too flesh and blood. But Emily’s freak-out brings them out of denial and face to face with the supernatural. Anywhere else, Friday night would be date night. But not in Weirdsville.

Book Review: 4 stars

So I went to the $5 store and purchased some books to hopefully help me complete some of my challenges, hence I had no idea if I would even like the books I had picked up. I am seriously one of those people who no longer just read the blurb, but have to skim through some reviews and ratings to see if I really want to read a certain book. Despite several ‘bad’ reviews of Nearly Departed, I was pleasantly surprised.

ghost_bike

If you have read The Diviners by Libba Bray you will be well accustomed to ‘creepy’ novels. But don’t get me wrong, this book does have its, I guess, scary moments – but they don’t make your skin crawl….they just mess with your head.

To be honest it did take me at least 60 pages to really get into this book. Mainly because I didn’t have much time to read, so that when I found myself on a 45min flight I knew that this was a now or never situation. And by the end of the flight I couldn’t put this book down.

I absolutely enjoyed the world of Woodsville! There is nothing better than a town where weird things happen. And to not give too much away – but the final ending with Jay! WOWIE! Like most other readers I am sure that you can pick what is actually happening before the book ends, but this doesn’t take away from the enjoyment of the book. Each character had their unique personality that was clearly evident in the way they responded and acted in certain situations. It was this contrast in personalities that really drove the book for me.

You toss in a few gangs, death at your doorstep, a ghost hunt, weird voices that are only heard in your head and I am seriously there with bells on. I can’t wait to read the next one!

20121221-161414.jpgBUY BOOK

Recommended if you liked Nearly Departed:
The Diviners by Libba Bray20121224-220558.jpg

One thought on “Nearly Departed (Weirdsville, #1) by Rook Hastings

  1. Pingback: Week in Review #2 | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

