The Mayfair Moon (The Darkwoods Trilogy, #1) by J.A. Redmerski

13432620Book Synopsis:
Pages 352 | Published 6th February 2012
After a nightmarish encounter with a werewolf, seventeen-year-old Adria Dawson loses her sister, but gains the love of a mysterious young man and his legendary family.

Strange and tragic things begin to happen in the small town of Hallowell, Maine: residents come down with an unexplainable ‘illness’ and some disappear. In the midst of everything, Isaac Mayfair is adamant about keeping Adria safe, even from her sister whom he has warned her to stay away from.

As unspeakable secrets unfold all around Adria, impossible choices become hers to bear. Ultimately, no matter what path she takes, her life and the lives of those she loves will be in peril. As she learns about the werewolf world she also learns why her place in it will change the destinies of many.

Review: 3.5 stars

“Dreams are just subconscious metaphors,” Isaac began, “They’re Life’s way of warning us of future events, explaining the past and deciphering the present.”

The Mayfair Moon | J.A Redmerski

I am an absolute sucker for anything YA. You add in a little bit of paranormal, maybe a dash of selfish love and we are seriously in business. With a book that has been described as “Twilights better, older, distant cousin” I am frankly quite sad to admit that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. Even after it started on such a good note by mentioning Ian Somerhalder…my only one true love.

Werewolf2

There are of course some profoundly astounding qualities. For instance the descriptions of each scene plays like a movie in your mind. With such care that the reader has no trouble imagining certain events. This book does describe the darker side of werewolves, and I did enjoy its concept on immortality and blood bonds. It was unique and I hadn’t read anything like it. And Oh-My-God where the fighting scenes EPIC!

Unfortunately as you can see via my rating…I had a few issues. To start with there was the whole ‘I knew I loved you from first sight, but I was a bit hesitant cause you are so uber hot and how could you possible be with someone as ugly and so not perfect as me..waaaaa”….just pull yourself together girl! Adria as a main character was just plain dull. She seemed to be overly concerned with everybody else’s life to have any actual character. Maybe I am used to reading gun hoe women who aren’t afraid to show some sass and kick some ass. (hey that last bit rhymed) And hence this could be why I got a bit ‘annoyed’ with a main character that was more reserved.

shock.jpgAnd Gosh! I am so ashamed to admit it but I didn’t like the male lead. Again Isaac lacked those unique qualities that make me swoon…like personality….I did however enjoy the family dynamics, especially with Zia. But there were just so many characters in that house that when the reader is first introduced, it gets a bit overwhelming.

I also found that the first part of the book was a bit wishy washy. Nothing much happened, and it took pages upon pages for the characters and the reader to reach the same level of understanding of what was actually going on. It was frustrating.

I am really sorry, and I seem to often do it – but while reading this book I was making a comparison between Twilight. So here is my list of similarities:

twilight-250

  • girl feels drawn to boy, but doesn’t know why – it may have something to do with his mysterious family
  • boy becomes possessive after girl pretty much says she will spend her life with him….after only meeting a few weeks ago.
  • when in werewolf form boy lets girl ride on his back up a mountain
  • any future they had together was limited by girls humanity…enough said.

There is room for the plot to develop, and maybe my deemed unnecessary wafting and character depth could prove to be important later on. But I don’t think Ill read the next instalment in the Darkwoods Trilogy, until I have at least somewhat forgotten what happened in the first one.

Unknown

BUY BOOK

2 thoughts on “The Mayfair Moon (The Darkwoods Trilogy, #1) by J.A. Redmerski

Leave a Reply

