Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

15717943Book Synopsis:

391 pages | Published December 19th 2012

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Recommended for readers 17+ due to sexual content, harsh language and heavy subject matter

 

Review: 5 Stars!!

This is a story that will stay with you forever; it will awe you, shock you, change you and touch your soul. There are issues dealt with in this book that are very much real and highly sensitive. This book really highlights how little we know about others’ lives; the challenges they face or the nightmares they’ve lived. Or how that for some it requires a lot of strength to go on living, and their ability to continue to smile and laugh despite everything is phenomenal. Colleen Hoover wrote an incredible book with Hopeless, she touched on some very delicate subject matters in a very tasteful yet heartbreaking manner. This book is stunning; I smiled, I laughed, I swooned and I cried. It’s absolutely breathtaking and cannot be missed.

black-and-white-hopeless-nature-text-window-Favim_com-437184

This book starts out with a touching love story. Linden Sky Davis is sarcastic, awkward, witty and strong. But she has an emptiness inside her that she doesn’t quite understand. So she has meaningless relationships with many boys, but all she feels is numb. She’s never before felt that burst of attraction and lust that makes you feel alive…

And then she meets Dean Holder…

tumblr_m1m3h5Oc0t1qi23vmo1_500_large

Holder is moody, temperamental, drop-dead gorgeous and hopeless.

“I can already tell he isn’t the kind of guy a girl gets a simple crush on. He’s the kind of guy you fall hard for, and the thought of that terrifies me.”

He makes Sky feel something for the first time in her life; he gives her butterflies, and makes her nervous and lustful. But he also holds a secret, one that will turn her world upside down…

I was totally into the story by this point, I lived it. The characters; Sky, Six, Breckin and Holder all make an excellent combination. Their all fun characters that make for a great read! And Holder, well Holder is my dream man! Ahhh he’s so perfect and he says the sweetest things (I highlighted nearly everything he said). Plus his romance with Sky is just hot, hot, HOT!

“Fuck all the firsts, Sky. The only thing that matters to me with you are the forevers.”

 Basically this book is awesome.

And then you hit the 60% mark… holy cow. My jaw dropped, I sat straight up in bed and I didn’t lie back down until the sun was in the sky. At this point, I had moved way past living the book, I loved it. But my god! It tore me apart and broke my heart. Yet the hopeless duo, Holder and Sky, got me through and gave me a little piece of hope back. Somehow, they made me smile despite it all.

“Not everyone gets a happily ever after. Life is real and sometimes it’s ugly and you just have to learn how to cope.”

This book is phenomenal. I only have one thing left to say – read this.

 

five stars

4 thoughts on “Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. I was surprised at how unpredictable the plot was…. my only qualm is the girl probably should be going into therapy instead relying wholly on the guy to heal her ( and viceversa) it came out as kind of needy and codependent. However you can really really see the chemistry/love between the two characters almost from the start- even if at first you think it might be the typical love/ lust at first sight from other novels. instead this makes sense… they had a connection that started since they were very young and he never forgot her. And the tattoo revelation… eish. I can see this being a really good movie.

    • Yeahh therapy probably would have been a good idea for her… But I really liked their relationship and how completely unexpected the last part was. Agreed, this would make a great movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

