Falling Under by Gwen Hayes

20121220-180647.jpg

Book Synopsis:

Theia Alderson has always led a sheltered life in the small California town of Serendipity Falls. But when a devastatingly handsome boy appears in the halls of her school, Theia knows she’s seen Haden before- not around town, but in her dreams.

As the Haden of both the night and the day beckons her closer one moment and pushes her away the next, the only thing Theia knows for sure is that the incredible pull she feels towards him is stronger than her fear.

And when she discovers what Haden truly is, Theia’s not sure if she wants to resist him, even if the cost is her soul.

Review: 2 stars

324 pages | published 2011
“I’m probably half in love with a boy I don’t really like.” Gwen Hayes – Falling Under

Honestly I was quite disappointed with this book. I had read numerous reviews that only expressed their praise for Gwen’s novel, but I however did not share the same emotions. I found Theia to be a boring character who was unrealistic and weak. Her relationship with her father, and the events that circle this relationship in relation to her mother was written in a way that didn’t give the extremities of such a situation justice. Theias inner thoughts were for a better word annoying as she was outlining feelings and opinions on situations that were clearly obvious.

In my opinion Gwen could have done so much more with the concept for her novel, which wouldn’t have left me skipping pages just so I could finish the book. The story didn’t really flow, taking too much time to describe unnecessary feelings and character surroundings instead of just continuing with the dialog. The imagery however was amazing (dancing in a graveyard – both brilliant and creepy) but it was her supporting characters that really carried the story in the end for me. Such as Donny’s sass and Gabe’s kind heart. Theia and Haden’s story however just wasn’t intriguing despite a fresh idea on forbidden love. I think it was the over used concept of “let me die for you LOvE”. It just wasn’t capturing nor realistic enough for me. Shame.

20121220-181736.jpg

Leave a Reply

