A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn

a kiss in timeBook Synopsis:

Talia fell under a spell…Jack broke the curse.

I was told to beware the accursed spindle, but it was so enchanting, so hypnotic…

I was looking for a little adventure the day I ditched my tour group. But finding a comatose town, with a hot-looking chick asleep in it, was so not what I had in mind.

I awakened in the same place but in another time—to a stranger’s soft kiss.

I couldn’t help kissing her. Sometimes you just have to kiss someone. I didn’t know this would happen.

Now I am in dire trouble because my father, the king, says I have brought ruin upon our country. I have no choice but to run away with this commoner!

Now I’m stuck with a bratty princess and a trunk full of her jewels…The good news: My parents will freak!

Think you have dating issues? Try locking lips with a snoozing stunner who turns out to be 316 years old. Can a kiss transcend all—even time?

Review: 4 STARS

Published: 27 April 2010

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 371

What a fun, entertaining read!! I loved sleeping beauty when I was younger (I think mainly because she wore a pink dress) so I knew the story pretty well before starting this, and Alex Flinn has written a really great adaption of it!

The story starts out with Jack travelling around Europe to gain “life experience” when he and his friend come across a hidden country that has been cursed to sleep until their princess is awoken by her true love. Jack breaks the curse when he (totally creepy if I might add) kisses the unconscious princess. Suddenly he’s stuck with Tahlia, the princess, who insists on following him home to America because she (equally creepily) wants to get Jack to marry her.

At first I really disliked both  Jack and Talia. In the beginning they are both totally self-absorbed teenagers who have difficulty seeing beyond their own dramas, it’s incredibly annoying. Jack is the biggest brat to have ever lived! He’s travelling around Europe for his summer with a bunch of other teenagers on his parent’s dime and he’s BORED. Seriously? I wanted to strangle him. His attitude completely represents the issues with several people today – that we have all this technology that allows us to have all these awesome experiences but we take it all for granted. We hate to wait for anything, we want everything fast, we become selfish and we forget to stop and go “huh, my life is actually quite awesome”.  Tahlia’s newness to the twenty-first century really highlights this fact. But Tahlia is also quite annoying in the beginning. She is self-absorbed and conceited, as is expected of someone who has been spoilt her life and she’s used to getting her way. She’s also used to being taken care of and can’t really do anything for herself, meaning she’s dependent on Jack. I really really hate simpering useless women who  can’t do anything for themselves.

So this did not get me off to a good start with the characters. However as the story continued both characters really developed and begun to grow up. Jack learnt to put someone else’s needs before his own, to understand his family, readjust his bratty behaviour and to follow his dreams. While Tahlia learnt to be independent and considerate of others. By the end they were freaking adorable, thoughtful and kind, being around each other made them better people, end of story. CUTE.

As I say it, I realise it’s true. I love Tahlia, not just because she’s hot (even though she is), and not just because she’s kind and thoughtful and smart, but because she makes me be all those things when I’m around her. “I’m a better person when I’m with you. I don’t want to stop being that person. I don’t want you to go.”

Alex Flinn has written a great adaptation of sleeping beauty that tells the story of how two young and bratty teenagers grow-up to become two self-sufficient and considerate young adults.

4 stars

Leave a Reply

