The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

10409347Book Synopsis:

The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.

Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn’t notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.

Review: 3.5 STARS

Published: 29 September 2011

Publisher: Harper Collins

Pages: 372

I don’t know how I feel about this book, I’m very conflicted! :/

Did I like it? Yes, absolutely! I liked the idea, I liked the setting, I liked the characters and I enjoyed the plot twists BUT I felt like there was something missing that prevented me from loving it.

I found the main character Rory to be quite charming and brave. As a main character I thought she was great! She was funny, her family stories were great and her reactions to the situations seemed genuine and normal. I also really liked all the other characters; in particular Boo and Stephen. I wasn’t a huge fan of Jerome and I’m really hoping he’s just a passing young romance ‘what was I thinking?!’ type fling before she moves on to bigger and better things (aka Stephen).

In addition I really liked the setting and the basis for the storyline. I thought the descriptive writing was great, I could really picture myself in London walking along the cobblestone streets. And the whole concept for the book was quite intriguing and original.

But the whole story was annoyingly missing something for me! I think my major issue was the lack of heebie-jeebies. Jack the Ripper is a real life nightmare, he is an infamous historical figure who carried out horrific killings for no reason.  Just thinking about him gives me the creepy-crawlies! Therefore I feel that any story that is based around him or his history should also give me the creepy-crawlies. But this book was missing the creepy factor. It touched upon some pretty scary stuff when it described the killings but there was potential for so much more. The book’s horror factor was very mild and that really disappointed me because I was expecting so much more.

However, I felt that the book really improved as it continued and I hear that the second book  is even better so I will be continuing the series 🙂

3 stars

2 thoughts on “The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Must-Read New Releases of February 2013 | MegaMad 4 books

  2. Pingback: Bookish Senior Superlatives | MegaMad 4 books

Leave a Reply

